I. Largo. Allegro

II. Largo

III. Allegretto grazioso

IV. Hornpipe. Moderato

>>> sources

DURATION: ca. 21 Min.

PUBLISHER: G. Schirmer (Music Sales Classical)

From the standpoint of composition, I have gone further than Brahms or Mozart in the Handel arrangements. I have not limited myself, as they did, to expunging sequences and uninteresting figure-work and to enriching the texture; insteqad, especially in the third and fourth movements, whose insufficiency with respect to thematic invention and development could satisfy no sincere contemporary of ours, I have acted quite freely and independently, and while empolying what was usable, undertaken an entirely new strudture. I believe that such freedom will be found hardly more disturbing, stylistically, than the cadenzas which modern writers apply to classical concertos. I do not venture much further than tey do in matters of harmony. Nor do I believe that I need yield to them as regards solidity of form and intensification of motival development, and their interrelating.

Arnold Schönberg (1935)


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.
>>More information